Colouring & Learning to draw during this COVID madness

Well isn’t this a strange time. My town luckily hasn’t been affected as bad as most other places by COVID, and Australia is tracking pretty well in general.

I am so far still in a job which is very fortunate. However our hours and days have been cut down as it is so quiet, so I have a fair bit of free time on my hands. As I am currently the only housemate in this unit I have the space and time to have a bit of a play. Originally I wanted to grab my mothers sewing machine and start sewing again. But I thought I’d try something small first.

I used to dabble in drawing clothing and basic kids stories when I was a kid but I was not very good. I used to always draw flowers with my grandmother. She taught me to draw Gerberas and Daisies and little floral doodles.

So during this time I thought I would watch some YouTube tutorials. I started with just colouring in printable pages from Pinterest that interested me then my colleague said “Why don’t you draw and colour Bookmarks? If you do I’ll have one!”. Well challenge accepted!!  So I hoped onto YouTube and found great tutorial videos by Shayda Campbell

So far I am just colouring using pencils (Derwent that I had lying around), some Faber-Castell Connector Pens and some cheap little crayons. I have consulted with 2 of my younger cousins who both did art in school and are a lot more versed in this world than I am. I am looking at buying an artists box set that includes a variety of paints, pastels, brushes etc for a great cheap price. Whether it’s good or not I don’t know but as a beginner it’ll do. But I cannot wait to try some different mediums and see the different results.

Now be kind, these are my first attempts, Obviously the first collage is just printed pages that I coloured. I WISH I could draw that well!!

All the floral ones I have drawn and there are a few bookmarks that I printed from Pinterest and coloured. I’m sure you can tell which ones they are haha.

Also just a disclaimer, don’t get weirded out by the spells colouring page that is on the front image. It’s just a cool pic.

 

Leave a comment